Sakurajima 3


The subtropical island of Southern Japan

Kanpai's rating
Add to my favorite places
Already visited

Kyushu is the third biggest island of Japan, after Honshu and Hokkaido, with close to 36.000km² and more than 13 million inhabitants. Located on the South-west of the archipelago, it benefits from a subtropical climate and would be the birthplace of the Japanese civilisation. Made of eight prefectures, its biggest city is Fukuoka.

Kyushu is made of eight prefectures: Fukuoka, Kagoshima, Kumamoto, Miyazaki, Nagasaki, Oita, Saga and the Ryukyu archipelago which includes Okinawa. It is the home of two volcanoes : the Mount Aso and, more in the South, the Sakurajima, as well as the surprising natural spring 🌸 waters of Beppu.

From its main city's Hakata station, it is possible to rally Kagoshima in the far South through the Shinkansen 🚅 bullet train since 2011.

⬇️ Further down this page, discover our visit guide in Kyushu and around.
By Kanpai Updated on June 01, 2018 Kyushu