The other attractive heart of Japan

The Kansai is a region of Japan located on the main island of Honshu, also called Kinki. Made of 6 different prefectures, it is the second most populated of the archipelago with more than 22 millions inhabitants, and is home to big cities full of history such as Kyoto, Osaka, Nara, Himeji or Kobe.

The Kansai region is one of the most well-known on the archipelago since there are some of the most famous interesting places of a Japan considered as more traditional.

Establishing a turning point and real link between the East of Honshu (Chubu) and the West of Japan towards the South (Chugoku), it gathers 6 prefectures : Kyoto, Osaka, Hyogo, Nara, Shiga and Wakayama.

In Japanese, it is also called Kinki region and its inhabitants can speak a regional dialect called the Kansai-ben.

The region makes, up to Kanto on the East, the Japanese megalopolis and is often considered as the historic heart of the archipelago.

Review this place
5/5 (3 votes)
Kanpai's opinion
Further down this page, discover our visit guide in Kansai and around.


Use Google Maps
Enlarge map
View the whole map of Japan

How to get to Kansai

The region is easily accessible by:

  • plane, through Kansai International Airport (KIX), close to Osaka
  • train, through the numerous JR Shinkansen stations, like Kyoto and Shin-Osaka, about 2h45 from Tokyo

Location unreachable with the JR Pass

Get there with a rental car

Find a flight to Osaka

In Japanese


Other name(s)


Accomodation in Kansai

Book your hotel on Booking or Expedia


Official website (in English)

Things to do in Kansai

Kansai guides